Day of Mourning, and Dogs, and Cats

by Raven

Here’s the beginning of our Facebook posts for 2024–many of which were old posts from the communes that hadn’t made it on to Commune Life before I stopped publishing at the beginning of December. While our ‘Welcoming the New Year’ post got a lot of views here and on Facebook, our FB statistics plummeted after that. Usually I show five from the cycle between the videos or photoessays I show here and on Facebook and the essay/thinkpiece that goes up here on Monday and on FB on Tuesdays. Because of how January started, that would leave one stray piece, or I could combine it with the five from the next week. Rather than either of those, I’m going to do half of the six this week and half next week (that is three each week) and then return to the five (or less) new things I put on Facebook each week the following week. Got that?

I’ll start with what I posted on FB January 2nd, which was something Twin Oaks posted in early December about what happened there in late November.

As I said, our statistics weren’t good. This post didn’t do well at all, with just two likes and fifty-six views.

Usually, animal pictures get a bunch of views. Not this week. Acorn post these pictures of their dogs play fighting.

This did a little better than the Twin Oaks post. It only got one like but it got 72 views. (I consider a hundred views my minimum decent exposure.)

Finally, Glomus/East Brook posted a picture of their very cute new farm cats.

While it didn’t make a hundred views, this post came pretty close, with five likes, a ‘care’, and ninety-seven views.

Day of Mourning, and Dogs, and Cats

Leave a comment